Pharmacy Technician

Are you a detail-oriented person who loves working behind the scenes? Do you want to play a critical role in health care, supporting both patients and health care providers? In less than one year you can learn how to be a pharmacy technician. FRCC's hands-on training prepares you to join the pharmacy team in this important role. You'll get the skills, training and support you need to help pharmacists ensure the health and safety of patients.

Why Study to be a Pharmacy Technician at Front Range Community College?

We'll prepare you to work in community and institutional pharmacy settings and include you in our extensive health care network that will help you make important career connections.

Our one-year program prepares you to perform pharmacy-related functions, generally working under the direct supervision of a licensed pharmacist. Our training includes both classroom and simulated components along with a hands-on experience.

Our program also prepares you to take the Pharmacy Technician National Examination. After passing the test, you can register an apply for a licensure to practice in Colorado.

You can enter the program in either the fall or spring semester.

We offer an apprenticeship pathway in addition to our traditional pharmacy technician program. Apprentices get paid for on-the-job training while working on site at the employer’s facility. As an apprentice, you will earn while you learn. Apprenticeships also provide you a competitive advantage in the workforce, as well as wage increases and opportunities for career advancement.

Certificate Details

Advanced Pharmacy Technician Training

Program Locations: Westminster

Total Credits: 26 credits (2 semesters)

The program prepares you to assist in the preparation of prescribed medications, including retrieve, count, pour, weigh, measure and mix medications. You'll be qualified to work as a pharmacy technician in a retail pharmacy, hospital, nursing home, assisted living facilities or mail-order pharmacy.

During the first semester you'll attend classes at the Westminster Campus. During the second semester you'll complete experiential modules in a both a hospital and a community pharmacy setting.

This program prepares you to sit to take the Pharmacy Technician National Examination.

View Program DetailsSee Admissions Requirements

Careers & Outcomes

Your certificate can open doors for a career in a variety of health care facilities.


FRCC’s advanced pharmacy technician program is nationally accredited by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP). The program is also recognized by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

Professional Licensure Disclosure

Students enrolling or continuing at Front Range Community College (FRCC) have a right to certain information that the college is required by law to provide. As a student applying for or attending the Advanced Level Pharmacy Technician (PHT) Program, you have the right to know it meets the certification criteria for Colorado. The certificate will count toward licensing or certification in states other than Colorado. If you are planning to seek to work outside of Colorado, it is strongly recommended that you contact the State’s certifying or licensing entity for guidance before you begin this program. State-by-state information is available on the Pharmacy Technician Career Guide site. 

This program meets the applicable state prerequisites for licensure or certification in Colorado as listed below: 

FRCC has determined the Advanced Level Pharmacy Technician (PHT) Program meets applicable state prerequisites for licensure and certification in states other than Colorado. These states include Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming and U.S. Territories: American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.